Skip to main content
OCC Flag

An official website of the United States government

Midsize and Community Bank Supervision

Beverly Cole Biography Image
Beverly Cole
Senior Deputy Comptroller for Midsize and Community Bank Supervision

Midsize and Community Bank Supervision (MCBS) ensures that midsize and community national banks and federal savings associations operate in a safe and sound manner, provide fair access to financial services, treat customers fairly, and comply with applicable laws and regulations.

MCBS comprises the following divisions: Community Bank Supervision, Midsize and Trust Bank Supervision, Specialty Supervision, and the Risk, Resource, & Examiner Development (RRED) Division. Community Bank Supervision is further divided into six regions: East, Northeast, South, Southeast, Midwest, and West.

Community Bank Supervision focuses on banks that typically conduct traditional banking activities. While some of these banks range from $1 billion to $15 billion in assets, most have less than $1 billion in assets.

Midsize and Trust Bank Supervision (MTBS) generally includes banks with assets between $15 billion and $115 billion. These banks present unique supervisory challenges based on size, complexity, or product line but are not part of the OCC's large bank program. MTBS also includes portfolios of credit card banks and trust banks.

Specialty Supervision consists of Novel Bank Supervision, Technology Service Providers Supervision, Thrift Supervision, and Special Supervision. These institutions are not tied to a specific geography and are grouped within portfolios led by supervisors with specialized expertise.

The Risk, Resource, & Examiner Development (RRED) Division unit will inform and support supervision, provide resilient and adaptive resource management, and provide an operational structure that maximizes efficiencies and effectiveness. The unit incorporates risk assessment (Risk Officers and Lead Experts), resource management (teams of specialist examiners), financial analysis, and examination support and examiner development.

MCBS Leadership

Office of the Senior Deputy Comptroller

Community Bank Supervision

East/Northeast Regions

The OCC's East/Northeast Regions are responsible for federally chartered community banks headquartered in Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Ohio, Pennsylvania, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Rhode Island, Vermont, Virginia, and West Virginia.

South/Southeast Regions

The OCC's South/Southeast Regions are responsible for federally chartered community banks headquartered in Alabama, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, and West Virginia.

West/Midwest Regions

The OCC's West/Midwest Regions are responsible for federally chartered community banks headquartered in Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, Nebraska, North Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, Utah, Washington, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.

Midsize & Trust Bank Supervision Division  


Specialty Supervision 


Risk, Resource, & Examiner Development Division